This is the ‘Why’

“You should write a blog.”  I’ve heard it at least 47 times.  Forty-seven is my official number of hyperbole, by the way.  But I always hesitated.  I was afraid it would end up, well, narcissistic (no offense R, J, M, et. al.).  Plus, I’m a private person.  I actually don’t want the whole world to know the intimate details of my life and family.  Then one day . . .
It was January, and something I was reading (maybe John Piper’s Don’t Waste Your Life, but I can’t remember for sure) prompted me to ask myself this question:  “When in my life have I felt most connected to God?”  Not on a retreat or in a worship service.  The question involved doing something.  More like, “What I have done that intimately connected me with the Father?”  Or maybe, “What did He create me to do that I recognize because, when I do it, it ‘fits’ and I know He is glorified?”

The answer came quickly.  [Can’t believe I’m telling this to the world right now!]  It’s when I study Scripture and write or speak about it.  Currently, I’m not at a place in my life where I can do that with people face-to-face, so this was a small crisis.  Should we move?  Should I let go of this thing He created me to do?  Is the timing just wrong?  Why tell me this now, Lord, but don’t give me a way to do it?  And that was the moment when He led me to do this blog.

Yes, I realize that was eight months ago.  I ‘wimped out’.  I made excuses.  PLUS, I couldn’t think of a good name, and that, I’ve heard, is very important.  Last month (July), I spent time with some amazing college girls, and I promised them that I would actually start blogging.  At about the same time, while doing my quiet time in John, I read 12:27-28, which, of course, I had memorized at some point in the past, but now I found it freshly relevant.  Jesus says, “Now my heart is troubled, and what shall I say?  ‘Father, save me from this hour’?  No, it was for this very reason I came to this hour.  Father, glorify your name!”  It was never about Jesus’ wants and needs.  It was always about the Father’s glory.

So that’s why I named this blog what I did.  The ‘1151’ in the web address comes from Psalm 115:1.  Not to us, O Lord, not to us but to your name be the glory, because of your love and faithfulness.

3 thoughts on “This is the ‘Why’

Leave a Reply

