Hidden Assumptions

Sometimes we meet people and immediately make a judgement about them. Even if you don’t consider yourself judgmental or prejudiced, it can happen…

Her hair was dyed and styled with copious amounts of hairspray. Her eye shadow was bold, what you could see behind the thick mascara, that is. She laughed loudly, dressed loudly, sang loudly. She was the opposite of most the women with whom I went to seminary.

As I sat down opposite her in a women-only Sunday School class at our new church, I decided she wasn’t very spiritual. I didn’t realize until later that I was making assumptions about her. Stereotyping, really. You see, I had never stopped to think how homogeneous my seminary was. Sure, we had international students and a few students from varied ethnic backgrounds, but they were mostly quiet and studious, like me. After forty-one months on campus there, I had unwittingly internalized a spiritual ‘type’ for women.

To find out how God used this beautiful woman to teach me a much-needed lesson, head over to Pastors’ Wives for the rest of the story.

hidden-assumptions

Leave a Reply

