Longing hard to meet the sun
I ran eastward with the morn
but somehow
I passed it by
and stopped with night to mourn.

Yet in my wait the light returned
and with it came the sun
I stood, I watched,
I closed my eyes
I rested from my run.

Instead the sun met me that day
it didn’t need my work
I could neither speed
nor stop
the turning of the earth.

The clouds obscure its harshest rays
the wind steals off its heat
still the sun
remains above
it’s not by chance we meet.

The trees reach toward the sun in sky
The sunflower turns its face
Only I can hide
inside
I choose what I embrace.

Each day its light shines down on me
no need to stretch or frown
it stays above me, guards me,
loves me,
until it goes back down.

Psalm 9-10 sunrise meme

For it is by grace you have been saved, through faith
—and this is not from yourselves, it is the gift of God—
not by works, so that no one can boast.  -Ephesians 2:8-9

 

A poem on the faithfulness of God…and sunrise…from @Carole_Sparks (click to tweet)

Can you identify with the narrator in this poem, who tries so hard to reach God but finds God reaching out to him/her instead? Do you see the faithfulness and consistency of God in it? Let me know what you think in the comments below! 

4 thoughts on “Longing Hard to Meet the Sun

  1. Beautiful photo to match these spiritually born words. I am reading Madeline L’Engle Walking on Water on faith and art …love her description, “The artist is a servant who is willing to be a birthgiver. In a very real sense, the artist (male or female) should belike Mary who, when the angel told her that she was to bear the Messiah, was obedient to the command.” Many blessings to you, Julie

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

